Distance

Published March 4, 2013 by Tasha

“The scariest thing about distance is, you don’t know if they’ll miss you or forget you”

I never took much notice of this quote because I always thought of it in my situation. I knew my Airman wouldn’t forget me because I was an important part of his life and I was his girlfriend. I was confident that he would miss me, as anyone does in a long distance relationship. It isn’t really until today when I read  back over that quote that I got the full meaning. The author wasn’t talking about boyfriend and girlfriend, or about husband and wife, they were talking about people letting another person go. Each going their own ways, maturing and then, when the time is right, coming back into each other’s lives. They weren’t talking about distance as we see it. They were talking about emotional distance. Whether the person you let go lives next door, in your town, in or state or not, was not the “distance” in question. It was about the distance you create by painfully saying the final goodbye.

Exactly what my ex and I have done. When I told him goodbye for the last time I was creating distance. I need that distance, no matter how hard it is going to be, no matter how much it is going to hurt, to get over him. Over our relationship. I need that distance to accept we cannot be until he sorts himself out, if he ever does. That distance allows people to let go, grow and re-evaluate things later on.

But the scary thing is, is that you don’t know who they’ll be if,when, you meet them next. You don’t know whether they’ll forget you during your time apart or if they’ll just miss you, thinking of you like you miss and think of them. You don’t know if they’ll still like you or if you’ll like the person they’ve grown into. You don’t know anything and that terrifies you because it might mean that when you let them go, you lost that person you once loved, and you won’t ever be able to get them back.

2 comments on “Distance

  • I have been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never discovered any fascinating article
    like yours. It is beautiful price enough for me.

    In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made excellent content material as you
    did, the internet will probably be a lot more helpful than ever before.

  • Leave a Reply

