Banning Together

Published March 7, 2013 by Tasha

Recently I was contacted by someone who has been going through the same situation as me. It was comforting for both of us to know that there was another person out there that understood completely how we were feeling. We may live countries away from each other, the reason for our break ups are totally different and we may have different interests, but the support we can offer each other is incredible.

It reminded me of the girls I met when my Airman and I were still together. The bond that is forged between military girlfriends/wives is amazing. I could not believe how quickly total strangers banded together to support each other. There may be a thousand different reasons between the girls but the one thing that brought us together was our strength. We were all struggling with the same things, frustration  fear for our men, the long tiring distance, the constant moving, the trials and mistakes of relationships, the farewells and homecomings, the good and bad that came with the special military life. We all supported each other for that one things we all craved, support. There was a common understanding between us.

Some of the girls, I have never met. Some of them don’t even live in my country, let alone my state or city. But there’s a whole bunch of us that have become so close. And if I were to be totally honest with you, and myself, I miss that. I miss that support and strength almost as much as I miss my ex. It’s something that I have never experienced in my life before, in any other situation. At times it was breath-taking. And as bizarre as this might sound, especially if someone who is involved with a military personal is reading this, I miss a lot of aspects of the military. Good lord, I would never wish it upon anyone. The heart break, the gripping fear, the heart wrenching goodbyes, the long distance, the deployment and sketchy skype dates. The times when you can’t have contact for weeks. The moments when you don’t know if they’re still alive and the moments when you feel as if your world is crashing down around you. There are so many things about dating an Airman I wont miss, but there is plenty that I will.

I deeply miss that support I received  and the support I returned. It was … special. Something that I know won’t get in any other situation in my life.

On a side note, people do still offer support through break ups. Not to the incredible degree I have experienced, but it is still there.
This girl, and two others, have shown me that. In helping them, it has also helped me heal. I am in no way done healing, but it is progress.
Show her some support. Go visit her blog. You won’t be disappointed, I promise. You might find that you have more in common with total strangers than your own friends.

http://alexandrajbowen.wordpress.com

It really is an inspiring blog that has shown me things that I’ve been hiding from for some while. Even if you aren’t experiencing a break up right now and your world is completely perfect, give her a chance. You might surprise yourself.

One comment on “Banning Together

  • Thank you so much for the support. I can’t even begin to describe how happy this makes me to see and how much it helps.

  • Leave a Reply

