Deployment Prep

Published May 1, 2013 by Tasha

Today marks one month (give or take a week) before one of my close friends deploy.
This will be his third tour.
But our first as friends …. Decidedly more than friends.
This will be my first deployment. Haha .. Okay that sounds like I’m the one going off to war … But you know what I mean.

And I don’t know how to feel about it.

First off, lets get one thing straight. We aren’t together. As in, we aren’t dating. We were going to, but at the time we were talking about it he got his orders and I wasn’t ready. I still don’t think I am. He knows what a deployment is all about, he’s been through it twice already and he didn’t think it was a good idea for a new relationship to start off in a war zone. Sure, people do it all the time and sometimes they make it through. My hat goes off to them. But after losing my best friend, after getting my heart broken, the two of us thought that we shouldn’t risk anything right now. I agree, I understand where he is coming from.
If something where to happen, neither of us wanted to get our hearts broken again.
We agreed to revisit the situation once he returned, but that wont be for at least a year. We haven’t promised each other anything, and we both realise that it is a far off idea. It is something in the future. And if I’ve learnt anything from my ex, its not to throw away an amazing friendship for a maybe relationship.
Pretty much we are both leaning towards just staying friends. We have a really good friendship and even though we like each other enough to have a good relationship …. Right now its just not worth it. I’m not ready, in any way … And I’m not that keen to jump back into a military relationship. We are both comfortable in staying friends.

But this doesn’t make the deployment any easier. We have talked about how we are going to contact each other, and I’m kind of excited to try a skype call (yeah, I haven’t done one of them before) and I’m a little excited to receive letters from him, having the experience to send care-packages.
But the thought of him being shot at, the thought of him being shot, being injured, dying …
Well, it doesn’t do anything for my stress levels!

I know how the army works, I know roughly how a deployment works. I just … I’ve never been through it before. I know he’s not my boyfriend (and part of me is relieved, believe me), but he still is one of my closest friends and we have been through so much together. The thought of him not being here anymore …. I can’t handle that thought.
And .. On a more selfish level … I don’t want to lose any more friends. I don’t want to keep losing people close to me. I don’t want my heart to be shattered all over again. I don’t think I’ll be able to handle it this time.

The good thing is we still have time. I can’t tell you much about when he leaves, but I can say that we still have some time. And when it comes time for him to leave, I’ll be there to send him off, along with his amazing parents, hug him for the last time and whisper “i”ll see you soon”. And then after his time is done, I’ll be there to welcome him home.

Sigh.
Yay for deployments!

7 comments on “Deployment Prep

  • I have to say that coming from a girl that just got back from Afghanistan three months ago, it’s still tough. I am not the same, and he will no be either. We think we are, until 90 days go by and you’re mentally not in the same place. It’s good that you guys are in a place where you can still be honest during a time when he’ll appreciate your friendship. And it was nice that he didn’t try to push something on you after the duress you’ve been through. Sounds like a good upstanding Army cat.

    • It was tempting to start a relationship but we both know that it wouldn’t work out. Not with him leaving so soon and not with me, just fresh out of a relationship.
      I’m lucky to have him as a friend.

  • Unquestionably imagine that which you said. Your favourite justification seemed to be
    at the net the easiest thing to remember of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed even as people consider issues that they just do not understand about.

    You controlled to hit the nail upon the highest as neatly as defined out the whole thing with no need side-effects ,
    people could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more.
    Thank you

  • Leave a Reply

