2 Years Today

Published May 9, 2014 by Tasha

2 years ago I cried.
2 years ago he got sworn in.
2 years ago he left.
2 years ago the Air Force became his new home.

I still remember that day as if it were yesterday.
08.05.2012. 

Ancient History class.
I watched the clock drag its hands towards the 12. I didn’t know when you were to leave, but I knew it was the day. D-day. I clutched my phone, waiting for your call or your text. It never came. But at 12.48 midday, your sister informed facebook that  you had boarded your plane with 20 other recruits. You were officially off to Basic Training, Bootcamp. That day was a haze.
I cried that night. I cried for us, for you, for me, for our future. But most of all I cried because I knew this was the first of many many many separations. The first of airport kisses, “see you later”s, hugs, late night phone calls, weeks without contact, fights, arguments, distance. The first for distance.
And I didn’t know if we were ever going to be okay again. 

Looking back, those 2 years have gone faster than I thought it would. He tells me it’s gone slow, but to me, someone looking in … Its gone pretty fast. Of course during Bootcamp, it dragged on. Those three months were the longest I have ever experienced. And of course planning visits down to Wagga months in advanced, took ages to come around. But looking back over the 2 years as a whole, where did the time go?
Where did the last two years of my life go? Of his? Of our journey?

I have watched my handsome man go from strength to strength. I have witnessed him smile, laugh, cry, struggle and succeed in parts of his life he thought he would fail. I have been there to encourage, help, sometimes scold and most importantly, love him.  Everytime he has done me proud.

The last 2 years haven’t been a fairytale, far, far from it. We have argued, fought, cried and cursed each other.  We have hated and than loved each other over and over again. We have hurt and broken each other, just to save each other at the last moment. But we have struggled together. Supported each other. Laughed and laughed some more. We have shared some of the best, and worse, moments of our lives. We have hoped and believed together … And we have built something beautiful.

If you ever read this baby boy, know that I am so proud of you. I have and always will be.
Congratulations handsome. It has been an interesting two years.
Here’s to many more. I will always be right beside you, where ever the Air Force takes us.

Leave a Reply

